• PhD student & medical oncologist Dr Pei Ding won Best Young Investigator Award at the Australasian Lung Cancer Trials Group's (ALTG) Meeting, July 2019 in Sydney for her work on EGFR mutation detection from ctDNA of a cohort of NSCLC patients. Pei is supervised by Dr Tara Roberts, A/Prof Therese Becker, Dr Wei Chua & Dr Victoria Bray. Pei also was chosen to present this work in the Best of the Best Session of the MOGA Annual Scientific Meeting ASM, Canberra, August 2019.


  • ILP Honours student Mr Thomas Opperman won best poster prize at the 5th Thomas Ashworth CTC and Liquid Biopsy Symposium, Sydney 2018 for his work on detecting PTEN and AR by RNAish in prostate cancer CTCs. Thomas was supervised by A/Prof Therese Becker, Dr Yafeng Ma & Prof Paul de Souza. Thomas also won best oral ILP Presenter Prize at the Health Beyond, Research & Innovation Showcase for this work and finished his ILP Honours project with High Distinction.


  • PhD student Mr Joseph Po was selected from his conference abstract to give a “rapid fire” talk about his work on CTCs in melanoma at the 4th Thomas Ashworth CTC and Liquid Biopsy Symposium in Sydney and he won an award for the second best rapid fire presentation. Joseph was supervised by A/Prof Therese Becker, Prof Paul de Souza and Prof Anna de Fazio.

  • Dr Tony Pang, a gastric surgeon and PhD student supervised by Prof Minoti Apte, A/Prof Therese Becker and Prof Jeremy Wilson was awarded the young investigator award at the Australian Gastroenterology Week, at the Gold Coast for his work on CTCs and circulating stromal pancreatic stellate cells.

  • A PhD scholarship was donated by Liverpool Catholic Club to the CCDR at the Ingham Institute for Applied Medical Research. This scholarship was awarded through a competitive application process to Ms Sarah Jeffreys from Hobart. Sarah has joined the CCDR team and works on molecular mechanisms of failure to aromatase inhibitor therapy and detection of these mechanisms in CTCs. She is supervised by A/Prof Therese Becker, Dr Patsy Soon, Prof Paul de Souza and Prof Hans Neubauer.


  • Francis won poster price at 3rd Thomas Ashworth CTC Symposium, Sydney


  • Therese awarded Ingham Institute / South Western Sydney Local Health District Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Joseph Po won poster price at 2rd Thomas AshworthCTC Symposium, Melbourne